The Ultimate Tear Jerker

Let me start by saying I am not a crier.

 I do not cry.

But this book… it made me cry. Like a baby.

17833493

That’s right, it managed to turn a stone-hearted b*tch into a sobbing pansy in a matter of 300 some pages.

 That… that is a job well done, Lisa De Jong. A job well done. I salute you.

I think I truly had to go through the five stages of grief with book. No joke. I honestly think I did.

I read this book probably way back in October/November of 2013 and still 3/4 months later, I feel the lump in the throat, pang in the chest, emotion crushing, tear inducing sensation that this book continues to haunt me with.

rainlove

Background on the Book:

One night was all it took for Kate to lose everything.

Ever since she’s been wandering through life in darkness, unable to truly move on or open up to anyone – even her childhood best friend Beau.

When Beau leaves for college, Kate is left on her own to deal with the nightmares always churning in her head. She takes a job at the local to pass her days, and it’s there she meets Asher.

Over time, these two create a bond that helps Kate finally begin to heal and piece herself back together. But Asher has a past and secrets of his own and when they come to light Kate’s world is turned upside down in a way she’d never thought possible.

When It Rains <—- Click here to check it out on Goodreads

Things not Found in the Synposis:

To represent this book I’m liking….

Never Alone

by  Jim Brickman ft. Lady Antebellum

Yeah… not normally a fan of country, but this book was a load of “not normal” for me.

Why this song, well the lyrics to start with. Secondly, the first time I listened to the song while trying to see whether it fit the book, I originally went “Nope”. Mainly because I was like this song is a little too upbeat for something that causes tears. It has too much acceptance and wishful, happiness type thinking. But then I realized you know what? That is the note the book ended on. Just because I was heartbroken and my emotions felt like they’d been put through a cheese grater does not mean there wasn’t a “happy” ending…

So there you go, ta-da! I present Never Alone. 

Overall rating: 5 stars *****

Like I said, I bawled like a baby. To those thinking they can multi-task while reading this book… I wish you luck. I tried, let me tell you. I really did. But you know what? I have tear stains in my marketing textbook. I was crying and I didn’t even know I was crying. I couldn’t leave my house because my face was so splotchy and – god forbid – I try and read it on the bus during my daily commute. Don’t do it my friends… don’t do it.

Anyways, read this book if your looking for a Final Destination style roller coaster of a book. It’ll take you up and up… and on the trip down you’ll crash and burn. LOL I’m just kidding…

To me, it was actually a beautifully written book. Kate’s past was tragic and man, let me tell you, the ride up that rollercoaster was amazing with a breath taking view of everything that represented happiness and love. Asher loves with passion and intensity that translates through the pages in a way that left me feeling like I was Kate. I took part of the journey when Kate began to see life as something with unlimited possibilities and I could feel when she was able to finally let things go.

All I can say is that this story – and it’s characters will stay with me for a very long time. And whenever it rains… Damn it, Asher! 

Cheers,

Tianna

Leave a Reply

