The Book that Proved a ‘Voice’ is So Much More Than Talking

This is exactly how I felt  reading this book

Holy sh*t, I can’t even describe the rollercoaster my emotions are on right now.

Up. Down. Upside Down. Inside out – and I didn’t even know my emotions could go inside out.

Anyways, back to the point of the post. Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan. If your a fan of NA reading and on Goodreads, I’m sure at least one of your friends is bound to have posted this in their TBR list – and if they haven’t, well then you should start the domino effect. This book was… WOW! I’m having a hard time getting rid of the weight in my chest.

18596596

Archer’s Voice on Goodreads <—– Click here to check it out

Some Background on the Book:

Bree Prescott is a girl with a past that she’s desperately trying to run from. In her effort to escape she finds herself in the small, quaint town of Pelion.

Here she settles into a life of getting up in the morning, fight through the nightmares that are her memories, go to work at the local diner & then take her dog out for a long walk & swim around the lake.

However, she can’t stop being drawn to the man she ran into the first day she came to town. Even with his too long hair, overgrown beard, rattly clothes,  and don’t-talk-to-me attitude she still can’t get stay away from him. When she finds herself in his yard one day trying to get her runaway dog under control, a snowball effect begins and she soon finds herself visiting him on a regular basis.

As it turns out Archer Hale has a past of his own. A past so deeply embedded in his consciousness even the beautiful Bree might not be able to bring him completely out of his shell.

Will these two be able to help eachother overcome their demons or will their demons ultimately drive them apart?

The Things that aren’t in the Synopsis

I present to you…

Whispers

by David Baxter

“This one comes and this one goes

So here we are across the road

In whispers, in whispers

You say: let it go, let it go home

Taking all our time we rode

Through the town where we grew old

Our stories and pictures

Oh we let them go, let them go home

Oh

Whistles

Oh, I have seen your beauty grow

Where all this fades, you shine in gold

Our love will be legend

If we let it go, let it go home”

I’m sorry, I’ll usually try not to push the idea of the song on you, but in this case I couldn’t help it. Look at those lyrics!! Even the video kind of matches!

Anyways, moving on.

Overall Rating: 5 Stars *****

 This book amazed me. As I mentioned the rollercoaster it took me on held so many ups and downs I lost track of which was up and which was down. I was reading and going ‘I feel like I should be happy… yet I’m sad. Why am I sad?’

The entire book was brimming with emotion that’s why. And at the end of the day, that emotion may not have been sadness, but it was something. Maybe it was the beauty of it all. The light that Bree painted Archer in and vice versa. Maybe it’s the fact they had their own ‘language’ (I’m not sure if it’s really considered a spoiler for me to tell you what it is, but just in case…). It just created this sense of… almost nostalgia. Of something that couldn’t last forever, but you were trapped in the moment with them and finding the beauty of it with them. Even when you knew deep down something terrible was coming and there was absolutely nothing you could do to stop it.

This isn’t your classic tale of boy meets girl or even damaged boy meets damaged girl. There is so sooo much depth to this story, I could hardly take it all in. Archer’s ‘condition’ made him beautiful, even in a town that viewed it as a flaw.

An absolutely heart-stopping, heart-breaking, heart-mending read.

Cheers,

Tianna

2 thoughts on “The Book that Proved a ‘Voice’ is So Much More Than Talking

  1. What a phenomenal review!!! What a song!!! Amazing! Brilliant book with hangover and all too. One that just stays in your thoughts for days and days after x

Leave a Reply

