Steampunk + Shapeshifters = Awesome

Can you honestly go wrong? I mean at look at this cover art!

18072494

For those who are a little bit confused about what exactly the ‘Steampunk’ genre is, consider it a sexy Victorian mélange of corsets, clock gears, mad scientist, parasols & so much more.

What’s that? Do I have your attention? I thought so.

Let’s Start with a Little Bit About the Book Shall We?

Five years ago Sera Czedar, a panther shape-shifter, left her family, friends & home behind.

It was the day of her mating ceremony, where she would be chosen by her lover to become his life partner – his mate, his other half. Or was it?

When things go terribly wrong Sera is forced into fleeing from everything she knew and, instead creates a new life for herself in Varselles, the City of Outcasts. There she is a fighter, a woman who is feared in the ring and out of it. Her life begins to fall into place among the shadows and anonymity of the large city, but it isn’t long until her past begins to catch up with her.

When the man she left in a humiliating position while on the eve of their mating ceremony comes to find her, Sera is faced with the fear of facing everything she left behind and hurting those which she swore to protect.

Age is 17+ due to mature subject matter & sexual content.

Homecoming on Goodreads <—- Click  to check out the full summary

Anywho, moving onto MUSIC & Review

Now, the point of this blog is hopefully to connect great books, with epic songs. Going through my iTunes, I realized that the song I feel best represents this books is…..

Cosmic Love 

by Florence + the Machine

 What can I say, I’m a romantic. 😉

 This short story was a lot of fun. It kept me on the edge of my seat, and the sexual tension gave me crazy whiplash! It was sooooo hot, and then something would interrupt it making me angry and frustrated at the cold. It was like torture! I almost couldn’t handle it.

The tension between the MC’s was breath-stealing, captivating & primal. I couldn’t stop reading. I needed to know what happened!

Let me tell you, when the official book 1, Rise comes out, I will be holed up on my couch plowing through it because all this short story did was get me crazy invested.

While the pacing was a little slow at times, it was necessary due to the amount of world and situation building needed. In my understanding the story is a prequel to the series The Cloaked Devices and therefore you don’t learn a huge amount about said devices – which means the true story has yet to begin. How exciting.

Overall rating: 4 stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟-

It was intensely original, I’ve seen very few books out there in the steampunk genre, and let me tell you, I personally think it’s a genre underused. There’s so much potential there and I can’t wait to read more about this amazing world that “Homecoming” has set me up for.

Cheers,

Tianna

PS. Do you feel like cyber stalking and seeing what else this author has to offer? Check out Cecilia Robert’s Blog for more information on books, promotions and more!

Leave a Reply

